Azure Cosmos DB Cost

Hi,

We just configured Squidex in Azure using the guide on your website. This was an easy process to follow and we got up and runnign quickly.

However, today after running it for dev for a few days, we were surprised to see that the Cosmos DB cost was $600 and climbing by $100/day.

This seems an extraordinary amount for a DB that’s currently only 3MB and, using the Azure pricing calculator, we were only expecting to cost in the region of $50/Month

Are you able to shed any light on where this cost could originate, or where we can find information to help identify the cause?

Cheers,
Adrian

You are right, that strange. Unfortunanetly I have no experience in running cosmos db in Production. There must be something that queries the database very often. Do you have any stats from the Azure cloud portal?

I actually came across this myself just now. The CosmosDB was populated with 16 collections, all of which have been provisioned with 1000 RU/s which would run a monthly cost of 900$/month. For a database which currently contains 385kbs, that’s borderline insane. I’m currently reducing the collections’ RUs to 100 each

Update: minimum allowed is 400, which is going to be a problem in terms of costs.

I know this might not be what you’re looking for, but here are the stats of CosmosDb for a brand new deployment of 2 x Squidex on AKS (so no data, and no API calls)

This due of the clustering, but 600 RU/s should not cost several hundred of dollars per month.

Re-reading OP’s question, I realised that OP’s issue is with the consumption and usage of resources, while mine is with the default provisioned reserved units per collection when Squidex creates the 16 collections on CosmosDB. As such they are different issues and I feel that I have hijacked the discussion, so apologies @aritchie. I shall create a new separate thread for this.