Enable different validations for “Draft” and “Published” content

I would like to be able to save a draft that is missing some required fields. However, I should not be allowed to publish my draft without being prompted to fill in the missing required fields.

The point is: Not everybody uses Publish the same way. Some users have Review steps and I guess they want to have have everybody filled in until it gets reviewed. So at least we need to make it configurable.

Good point. Maybe we could have a checkbox on the validation page for “Required to save a draft”. This way people adding content on large teams can share the work load without changing validation rules.